sica banner block
This website from DutchCulture, centre for international cooperation, will be integrated in

Dutch DJ Afrojack wins EBBA


The winners of the 2012 European Border Breakers Awards (EBBA), celebrating the top new talents in European pop music, were announced today by Androulla Vassiliou, European Commissioner for Education, Culture, Multilingualism and Youth and the European music conference and showcase festival Eurosonic Noorderslag.

The winners of the 2012 awards are:

  • Elektro Guzzi (Austria)
  • Selah Sue (Belgium)
  • Agnes Obel (Denmark)
  • Ben l'Oncle Soul (France)
  • Boy (Germany)
  • James Vincent McMorrow (Ireland)
  • Afrojack (Netherlands)
  • Alexandra Stan (Romania)
  • Swedish House Mafia (Sweden)
  • Anna Calvi (UK)

To be eligible for the awards, the artists must have enjoyed border-breaking success with their first international release in Europe between 1 August 2010 and 31 July 2011. The winners will receive their awards at Eurosonic Noorderslag in Groningen, Netherlands, on 11 January 2012.

One of the winners will also receive a 'Public Choice Award'. From 1 November until December 31 the public can vote for their favourite artist on